Life’s little (non-existent) instruction book

My bookshelf

Games are squeezing out the parenting section of the MeHerandHer bookshelf. A fact that gives me great gratification.

Read an interesting and thought-provoking post at BlogHer.

I’ll definitely add my voice to those parents thinking, “The kid is full enough, clean enough and rested enough. Now what the hell should we do.” And while I’m eager to hear about tried and successful entertainment ideas for toddlers (Her2) and 3-year-olds (Her1), I wouldn’t say that there is any shortage of people offering suggestions or that there’s a lack of advice. Ever looked at Amazon’s Parenting & Families section – it can get frightening.

There are so many, in fact, that I find the vast number of options to be more of a challenge than not knowing how to handle the kids. Bookshelves, tv stations and even blog platforms like the one the article I read came from are full of advice (contradictory, more often than not) on how to raise children. Not to mention family members and the people looking on with disgust when a kid has a tantrum – or just has the audacity to cry in public.

There are plenty of options for anyone looking to get parenting degree – and to be clear, I don’t think that was the point of Itorres78’s post – but I don’t think there’s ever going to be a guide raising kids. I can’t think of any other chapter in life that came with a helpful guidebook. Middle school? Definitely not. Dating? Nope. Marriage? Not really. Kids? No. And I don’t expect the upcoming ones (ailing parents, growing kids) to be much different.

It reminds me of the best piece of advice I got before Her1 was born: If you and Her0 agree and are happy with how things go then everything will be fine and you don’t need to listen to anyone else.

2 thoughts on “Life’s little (non-existent) instruction book

  1. You’re right! We just fumble our way through it all. I don’t know how many times I’ve sat there with an issue (usually a sleep or behavioral related one) and just said, “I don’t know what to do…” Most advice CAN be contradictory, but as long as you have some trusted friends to bounce ideas off of, then you’re doing ok! I wouldn’t have survived those early days without my multiples club.

    Love that last line.

Leave a comment